Labor Day is one of the biggest drinking holidays of the year and, therefore, is an especially dangerous time to be on America’s roadways. Throughout the entire year in the United States, one person is killed approximately every 51 minutes as a result of a drunk driving accident, but over Labor Day weekend, that statistic rises to a horrifying rate of one death per 34 minutes. Thankfully, there are several ways you can help keep your friends and family safe this Labor Day.
Hosting a Safe Labor Day Celebration
Hosting a Labor Day get-together with your friends and family is an excellent solution to help ensure that your loved ones stay safe. Here are a few tips for throwing a safe celebration for all of your guests.
- Verify that your drinking guests have a designated sober ride if they plan to leave the party. If a designated driver, taxi or public transportation is not available, request that your guests stay the night.
- Offer non-alcoholic drinks and/ or “mocktails” to help encourage drivers to stay sober.
- Require that guests who are planning to drink turn over their car keys upon arrival.
- Provide plenty of snacks to help curb the effects of alcohol.
- Younger, less experienced drivers are at a higher risk of becoming involved in an alcohol-related accident. Make every attempt to keep young drivers off the roadways during the holiday, and never offer alcohol to individuals under the age of 21.
Surviving Labor Day Away from Home
While your safest bet is to stay at home for Labor Day, plans with loved ones or other obligations may require you to travel. Whether you are planning to attend a Labor Day celebration with friends and family or you simply need to be on the road over the holiday, use caution and follow these safety tips.
- Don’t ruin your holiday with a DUI. If you plan to drink alcohol, arrange for a designated driver, alternative transportation, or a place to stay until you sober up.
- Recognize the signs of drunk drivers on the roadways and do not hesitate to report them.
- Protect yourself and your loved ones by requiring that all passengers wear safety belts.
- Establish a distraction-free zone for the driver and exercise defensive driving.
- Drink responsibly to avoid becoming so intoxicated that you might make poor travel decisions.
- Never ride in a vehicle with a driver who is impaired.
Understand the Consequences
The state of California has strict DUI laws. If you do drink to over 0.08% and drive, plan to deal with serious consequences. In California:
- It is illegal to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level of 0.08 or higher.
- A drive on DUI probation cannot have a 0.01 or higher when driving.
- The penalty for a first DUI offense may result in 4 days to 6 months in jail, fines up to $1,000 plus penalty assessments, license suspension up to 2 months, and the possibility of an IID (interlock ignition device) being required.
- A second DUI can mean 10 days to 1 year in jail, up to $1,800 in court fines and additional penalty assessments, 1 to 2 years license suspension, and a required IID.
- If you receive a third DUI you can expect to spend 120 days to 1 year behind bars, spend up to $1,800 in court fines and additional penalty assessments, have your license revoked for 3 years and be required to use an IID.
Additional DUIs or a DUI that results in an injury accident or death can land you in prison with felony charges.
Charged with DUI? Contact Los Angeles DUI attorney Jon Artz at 310-820-1315 today.